GCSE new grading scale - Factsheet

As you will be aware, students in Year 11 will be receiving their Maths, English Language and English Literature GCSE grades this summer as numbered grades, 9 - 1, rather than A* - G.  Additionally Year 10 and Year 9 students are studying GCSE courses that are graded using the new 9-1 scale.

In preparation the Department for Education has this week published a factsheet for parents explaining the new GCSE grading scale.

The factsheet explains:

  • the new GCSE grading scale
  • standard and strong pass marks and what this means for students, schools, parents and employers
  • when the new grades will apply to different subjects


Link to: GCSE new grading scale - Factsheet for parents

logos January 2019